iOS App of the Week: Flipboard

Mobile users (either tablet or phone) are constantly on the look out for new apps to satisfy their needs. As a blogger, my needs include staying informed so I can give the best possible information about a given topic, so I searched long and hard for a news reader that would live up to my (admittedly, very high) expectations. I finally landed on Flipboard.

The functionality of reading articles using Flipboard is a great process. You flip and scroll articles the same way you would flip and scroll with an e-book, making the system super easy to use and instantly familiar to anyone that is new to either the app or the system of a touch screen.

I like using Flipboard because of the ingenious way that it pulls info from all my favorite sources allowing me access to my Google Reader, Twitter and various popular articles on a wide array of topics. If you refer to the above photo, you can see that Filpboard puts the different sources in neat little boxes to help you sort where your info is coming from. The number of people I’m following via Twitter is far more populous than the number of blogs I’m following with my Google Reader. So, if I’m looking for info about something from a specific source, I will use my Google Reader to find that info. For example, if I’m looking for a recipe, I won’t bother with the Twitter section, as I don’t follow that many chefs on Twitter. I will use the Google Reader and look directly at Bad to the Scone, a recipe/cooking blog that I particularly enjoy.

I am a big fan of Twitter, as you probably know by now. When I linked my Twitter feed to Flipboard, I wasn’t expecting anything more than just a normal view of my Twitter feed. That is not the case at all! I found that when someone tweeted a link to a video, Flipboard automatically expanded the Tweet to show the video and rendered the video within the app allowing you to watch the video without having to click the link and have it open in YouTube. I’ve used apps before that just provided a link that would then refer you to YouTube to view the video. Then, when you were done, you would have to close YouTube and re-open that app and find where you had left off. I found this process to be very annoying, so I was stoked when I saw that Flipboard had solved this problem for me! As an example, you will see to the right that WheezyWaiter (a YouTuber that I follow) Tweeted his newest video. I didn’t have to tap on the Tweet to get it to expand and trigger the app to render the video, it just did it.

When you first get the app, you can choose several topics that interest you and have popular news gathered into those boxes for you. As you can see in the picture below, I chose “Technology”, “Gaming” and “Science”. Flipboard pulls selected articles from places like Twitter or directly from RSS feeds of sites that would be considered authorities on the given topic. For example, my “Technology” box shows tons of articles from places like Wired, Tech Crunch, The Verge and plenty of other larger sites along those lines.

There is also a box (bottom right) that shows you the latest news from the RSS feeds you frequent the most in your Google Reader. I am a social media whore, so I read a lot of stuff on Sociolatte about what’s new in the world of social networking. I want to be one of the first on board when the next Twitter comes along.

I greatly enjoy using Flipboard, especially since it is available for both iPad and iPhone. You can sign-in to Flipboard, which saves all your linked accounts and app preferences and then gives you the same experience on all of your mobile devices.

Download the Flipboard App for Free on the iTunes App Store

About Alloy Matt

Happy Husband | Beardsman | Blogger | Dreamer | Wholigan | Drinker of Coffees | Tweeter of Hashtags | Gamer of Table Tops | Amature Astronomer | Fanboy of Apple

Posted on September 5, 2012, in Apple, Geek, iOS Apps, iPad, iPhone, Nerd, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

